KEITH HARING

1958-1990

What more is there to say about Keith Haring and his story, given that he is already a hero of the contemporary art scene? There is no shortage of works to laud his talent, and we would not dare to compete with them.

Haring’s role in the street art movement is nonetheless deserves recognition and, conversely so does the importance of graffiti in his personal story.

He first arrived in New York at the very beginning of the 80s as a trained commercial artist, quickly encountering the abundant creativity of the underground scene when. He soon began to create his own works of art in the streets, on the subway, and on any medium he could, which made his name as an artist.

Urban art allowed him to break free from the shackles of the advertising industry and to unleash his creative passions. He was also among the artists who influenced the new generation the most, due to his easily identifiable visual language, with a graphical style that featured highly synthetic shapes, a striking colour palette, and thick black lines.

All the works that we are exhibiting have a certificate of authenticity from the Keith Haring Foundation.

KEITH HARING

1958-1990

A quoi bon vous présenter une nouvelle fois ce héros de l’art contemporain qu’est Keith Haring. Les bibliothèques sont remplies d’ouvrages lui rendant hommage avec un talent que nous n’oserions concurrencer.

L’élément nous semblant le plus important à souligner est sa place dans le mouvement street art et inversement la place que le graffiti avait dans sa vie.

De formation dessinateur publicitaire, c’est au tout début des années 80 lors de son arrivée à New York qu’il se retrouve confronté au foisonnement créatif underground. Très rapidement, il réalise ses œuvres dans la rue, le métro, sur tout support et se fait connaitre en tant qu’artiste.

L’art urbain lui a permis de sortir du carcan de publicitaire et libérer sa fièvre créatrice. Il est par ailleurs l’un des artistes ayant le plus influencé la nouvelle génération par un style graphique, une iconographie facilement identifiable aux formes synthétisées soulignées de noir et une gamme chromatique accrocheuse.

Toutes les œuvres que nous présentons disposent du certificat d’authenticité de la Keith Haring Foundation.

Contact


18 Rue Dragon - 13006 Marseille


+33 6 81 69 90 58


contact@artcan-gallery.com

}
Ouvert du lundi au vendredi de 11h à 13h et de 14h à 19h, le samedi sur rendez-vous